Everything You Need to Know About The Infinity Stones


The power of the Infinity Stones puts the Marvel Universe at risk- as we head towards the long awaited Infinity Wars saga, we gathered the most important bits of information you need to know before heading to the movie theater.

“Before creation itself, there were six singularities. Then the universe exploded into existence, and the remnants of these systems were forged into concentrated ingots… Infinity Stones.”
―The Collector (Guardians of the Galaxy)

The Infinity Stones are basically six incredibly powerful objects tied to different basic elements of the universe and created by the Cosmic Entities.
Each of the stones possesses unique powers that have been changed and enhanced by various alien civilizations and entities over thousands of years.

Only immensely powerful entities can wield the stones, such as when the Celestials used the Orb (an artifact that contains the Power Stone) to pass judgment on entire planets.
Although sorcerers, Celestial hybrids and androids all appear to have the ability of using the power of the Infinity Stones, Lesser beings are usually unable to withstand the full power of the stones and are destroyed by them when they come in direct contact with them, such as the sickness of Jane Foster when exposed to the Aether (Thor: the Dark world), the disappearance of Red Skull by the Tesseract (Captain America: The first Avenger), and the incineration of Carina by the Orb (Guardians of the Galaxy).

However, it is possible to create a container that can prevent a person from being directly in contact with an Infinity Stone, but allowing the user the ability wield its power. An example of this is the Time Stone sealed within the Eye of Agamotto (Doctor Strange).

The first entity to have successfully attempted to wield all stones together was Thanos, while placing all of them together on the artifact know as the Infinity Gauntlet.
While each stone has its own unique power and ability- wielding the two or more stones together can grant improved powers as the unique forces of the stones interact and compliment each other- the infinity gauntlet brings all six stones together and the power all 6 will generate together will be endless.

These are the 6 stones and their powers:

Power Gem – Increased strength and durability, enhances virtually any known superhuman ability, energy manipulation. It also supplies the other gems with their power / energies.

Time Gem – Time travel; stop, slow down or speed up flow of time; accelerate or slow down aging; see into past/future.

Space Gem – Travel through space, mostly through teleportation. Able to interfere with the motion of other objects.

Soul Gem – Observe, attack or even steal a being’s soul or spirit. Also used to revert individuals to their natural state.

Reality Gem – Alters all of reality; similar to the effects of a Cosmic Cube, but much, much higher.

Mind Gem – Near-limitless psionic/psychic abilities including empathy, telepathy and telekinesis.

Author: Josh Hayett

Josh is a retired comic book artist who never made it to the big leagues (to be fair- he never really tried) so now he’s here writing stuff about what other people are doing with their talents.
Always with an opinion about TV shows, Movies and especially why Marvel is the best ever,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eleven + two =